Introductions?

I guess I should start off with some form of introduction….

My name’s Gordon Rayburn.   I’m a senior level database administrator using Microsoft SQL Server technologies.  It’s nice to be able to say technologies these days, instead of “Yeah, I’m the guy who runs the database servers”.  I do have a tendancy to introduce myself or position as a High-Tech Janitor though.  It usually gets a giggle out of other folks like myself.  I’ve been in the I.T. business for eleven years now, primarily as a DBA.  I am currently employed by a leading student lending institution working with some very cool technolgies and hardware.

When I’m not working I’m usually riding a motorcycle.  Either in the canyons of Southern California or at one of the racetracks in the area.  I have a couple of sportbikes and a supermotard that gets ridden almost daily.

Now that the formalities are out of the way…let’s get down to business.  This is mainly going to be a technical blog; as I need some place to park my code that I would like other people to be able to use/review/comment.  I intend on using this blog to get some things out there that I don’t think some people realize we (as DBA’s) are doing with technology.

First up is going to be some PowerShell stuff with a smattering of SMO that I’ve been working on the last few months.  There will also be some T-SQL stuff relating to tracing, backups, fragmentation and other administrative things that every good DBA should know or at least learn about.

MCP end of file.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

